SSRU up to date with Ian Milne

  • SSRU Hon. Sec. Ian Milne with the first of his SSRU  updates for Whites supporters…

Swansea Schools 2019-2020 Rugby squad has been training hard throughout the summer, ready for the forthcoming season and participating in the National Dewar Shield competition. As a warm up match the squad travelled down to Haverfordwest RFC to take on Pembrokeshire Schools and it proved to be a useful experience for the lads. 

A breezy evening kick-off saw Swansea take an early lead when awarded a penalty slotted home by outside half Jack Whitton (Bryntawe). The visitors increased their lead when No.8 Kian Hier (Pontarddulais) crashed over for an early unconverted try from a scrum 10 metres out. At 8-0 ahead Swansea’s defence held out some clever Pembrokeshire back play and some excellent inter passing saw Swansea full back Leo Thomas (Penyrheol) break the home defence for a further try converted by Whitton. At the first break Swansea held a 15-0 advantage.

A lot of changes were made in both sides to accommodate all squad members. During early exchanges in the second period a determined home side launched several attacks which eventually breached the Swansea line for a great unconverted try and a 15-5 deficit. However Swansea were in a determined mood and full back Thomas scored his second try this time converted by centre Oscar Scott (Penyrheol) for a 22-5 lead.

The third period of play was dominated by the Whites. Further tries by centre Dafydd Roberts (Bryntawe), left wing Cole Amphlett (Olchfa), and prop Ben Hibbard (Pontarddulais) plus two more conversions by Scott enabled Swansea to increase their lead to 41-5. But a plucky Pembrokeshire had the last laugh with a fine converted consolation score for a final 41-12 Swansea victory. 

Swansea still have warm up friendly games to come versus Llanelli, Mynydd Mawr and Cardiff before setting out on the Dewar Shield trail with a home game v Rhondda . 

We are also delighted to have ex Schoolboys player and current Whites captain Jonathan Fox coaching the squad together with Phil Jones and Matthew Aubrey.

At SSRU we are proud to note that A QUARTER of the Wales squad selected for the Rugby World cup in Japan are ex Swansea Schoolboys players. They are: the captain ALUN WYN JONES, NICKY SMITH, ADAM BEARD, ROSS MORIARTY, JUSTI TIPURIC, DAN BIGGAR, LIAM WILLIAMS and LEIGH HALFPENNY.