Whites finish on a high for Lanky

See more photo galleries from 2018-19 HERE

By: Paul Hopkins


The Whites signed off their season in style with a late 24-14 victory over regional rivals Aberavon.


The visitors started the brighter and winger Alex Varney made a break over half way with the supporting centre Joe Gage chipping ahead, but the Swansea defence regrouped to clear their lines.


The Wizards were soon back on the attack through fly half James Garland and Varney, who chipped ahead only for the covering full back Gareth Rees to fumble and concede a penalty. Garland chipped to the corner and Joe Gage powered over for a try from a driving lineout.


Swansea looked to hit back immediately and a professional foul by the visitors gifted fly half Steffen Williams three points.


Lock Ben Thomas superbly ripped the ball off opposite number Sam Kiley to set up an Aberavon attack, but a loose Garland kick was comfortably fielded by Rees.


Offside at the ruck by the Wizards saw centre R Rhys Williams find touch inside the twenty-two. Lock James Ratti collected the lineout, but a handling error saw the move break down.


Ratti claimed another lineout soon after and fed prop Alex Jeffries, who made yards into the Aberavon twenty-two. Centre Mike Evans burst through a tackle, but was brought down a couple of metres short of the line. The Swansea pack weren’t able to gain any momentum though and gave away a soft penalty for pulling a man back off the ball.


Scrum half Tom Ham made a half break as the Whites continued to attack, but his side ran out of patience and R Rhys Williams was penalised for holding on after the tackle on the stroke of half time.


Half-time:-   Swansea   3   Aberavon   7


The Wizards almost added a second try when full back John Phillips chipped through, but Evans superbly got back to defuse the situation to prevent the score.


The home side were awarded a penalty following a Whites scrummaging infringement. Garland opted to chip to the corner and the Whites committed an offside offence at the lineout. This time the Wizards opted for a close range scrum and a couple of offences in a row saw replacement prop Eddie Drake yellow carded.


Aberavon chose for the scrum to be reset and the visitors took advantage of the extra man to outmuscle their counterparts for a penalty try.


Quick ball out wide almost saw Rees break through a tackle and he was well supported by Ratti. The Wizards gave away a penalty and quick thinking by replacement scrum half Chris Morgans sent substitute flanker Ifan Phillips crashing over for a try. Steffen Williams converted.


The home side took the lead in spectacular fashion as Morgans raced 50 metres upfield from inside his own twenty-two and quick ball out wide saw Rees exploit a four man overlap to score. Steffen Williams converted.


Swansea gained the upper hand up front and earned a penalty at the maul. R Rhys Williams chipped to the corner, but Kiley failed to take the lineout. However a fight broke out and prop Rowan Jenkins was yellow carded.


Steffen Williams kicked to the corner and the ball was fed out down the blindside for winger Tom Williams to score. Steffen Williams converted.


The Swansea forwards camped on the Aberavon line in the dying seconds, but R Rhys Williams was unable to release the pass out wide and Tom Williams was penalised for holding on after the tackle.


Full-time:-   Swansea   24   Aberavon   14




Tries:-   Ifan Phillips (62), Gareth Rees (68), Tom Williams (79)

Cons:-   Steffen Williams (63, 69, 80)

Pens:-   Steffen Williams (16)


Yellow cards:-   Eddie Drake (58)




Tries:-   Joe Gage (12), Penalty Try (60)

Cons:-   James Garland (13)


Yellow cards:-   Rowan Jenkins (79)


Match facts:


Venue:-   St Helen’s, Swansea

Weather:-   Light rain showers, 11C

Man of the match:-   Charlie Davies

Attendance:-   350


Swansea team:


15 Gareth Rees (rep: Nathan Trowbridge 80+2)

14 Tom Williams

13 Mike Evans (rep: Callum Carson 49)

12 R Rhys Williams

11 Ryan Griffiths

10 Steffen Williams

9 Tom Ham (rep: Chris Morgans 49)

1 Jack Powell (rep: Eddie Drake 47-70, Shawn Howard 70)

2 Paul John (rep: Ifan Phillips 47)

3 Alex Jeffries (rep: Greg Cunniffe 60)

4 James Ratti

5 Sam Kiley (rep: Tudor Hughes 80+4)

6 Ben Davies (rep: Jack Powell 58)

7 Callum Bowden

8 Charlie Davies




16 Shawn Howard

17 Eddie Drake

18 Greg Cunniffe

19 Tudor Hughes

20 Ifan Phillips

21 Chris Morgans

22 Callum Carson

23 Nathan Trowbridge


Aberavon team:


15 John Phillips

14 Alex Varney

13 Will Price

12 Joe Gage (rep: Gwyn Parks 51)

11 Stef Andrews (rep: Chris Banfield 70)

10 James Garland ©

9 David Pritchard (rep: Dan Hiscocks 80+1)

1 Rowan Jenkins

2 Luke Davies (rep: Ieuan Davies 80+1)

3 Geraint James (rep: Chris Davies 70)

4 Ben Thomas (rep: Sam Williams 70)

5 Rhodri Hughes

6 Lee Purnell

7 Luke Joseph (rep: John Thomas 80+4)

8 Ashton Evans




16 Dan Hiscocks

17 Chris Banfield

18 Gwyn Parks

19 Ieuan Davies

20 John Thomas

21 Sam Williams

22 Andrew Waite

23 Chris Davies