Goughie tops flying end to Whites’ season


Special guest Speaker Ian Gough rounded off the Swansea RFC season in fine style on Friday evening in the St Helen’s Lounge at Swansea RFC.

With stories of his club and international rugby career and his ongoing love of flying single engine aircraft, he topped an evening that celebrated a superb effort in 2018-19 by the men’s team and a cup winning performance from the Women’s team.


Departing players and retiring members were  honoured, with a special mention to departing head Coach Richard Lancaster, retiring longtime All White Paul John and to two stalwarts of the Patron Supporters’ Committee, Chairman Gerry Lindenburn and Treasurer Pete Hickery, who both stand down from those roles after many years’ service. All four of these Swansea RFC men received special Club Merit awards. Gerry and Pete also were presented with Swansea RFC Life Membership certificates in recognition of many years’ working tirelessly for the club. 

In the men’s and women’s squads, the 2018-19 awards went to the following:

Men’s awards

Bernard Cajot Memorial Award for Young Player of the Year – Callum Bowden

Players’ Player of the Year – Morgan Morris

Patron Supporters’ Player of the Year – James Ratti

Club Merit Award for service – Paul John

Women’s awards

Elli Norkett Memorial Award for Young Player of the Year – Jodie Evans (accepted by captain – Siwan Lillicrap)

Players’ Player of the Year – Ffion Bowen

Coaches’ Player of the Year – Robyn Lock

Club Merit Award for service – Richard Lancaster

Patron Supporters’ Special award – Gerald Lindenburn & Pete Hickery

Club Merit Award for service (Life Membership Awards)  – Gerald Lindenburn & Pete Hickery