Doncaster Knights
2011/2012 British & Irish Cup
Doncaster 16 v 20 Swansea
17 December 2011 - Castle Park, Doncaster

Match Report

Doncaster 16 Swansea 20


A last gasp Rhodri Wells try stole victory for the All Whites in the 12th minute of injury time in a pulsating encounter with Doncaster Knights. The home side looked to have won it with a late penalty try but Swansea dug deep to fashion a winning score despite having three men in the sin-bin.


It was a dream start for the Whites when Eli Walker made a half break and found Wells who touched down for a try within the first two minutes. Sam Davies converted. The visitors enjoyed most of the possession inside the opening quarter and full back Nicky Thomas set up an attack by using his pace. Richard Kelly and Dan Baker powered through the middle to force the Knights’ defence to drift offside in midfield. Davies converted the penalty.


The Swansea defence killed the first real Doncaster attack and were punished by a David McIlwaine penalty goal. Royce Burke-Flynn and Jack Yeandle drove into the heart of the Swansea twenty-two but threw a loose pass forward.


An excellent attacking move sparked by Wells and Kelly found Stefan Watermeyer on the crash ball. Fellow centre Ryan Evans then made a half break and the Doncaster defence failed to roll away in the tackle to gift Davies another three points.


McIlwaine found touch deep inside the Swansea twenty-two with a penalty and Dominic Parsons drove up to the line before the visitors’ pack collapsed a maul. McIlwaine cut the deficit to seven points with a penalty goal.


Half-time:-   Doncaster    6   Swansea   13


A powerful drive by the Knights forwards five minutes into the second half earned them a penalty – McIlwaine succeeded with his effort at goal. The fly half had another opportunity to narrow the gap when the visitors collapsed a scrum but pulled his effort wide of the post.


Yeandle became the first player to be yellow carded after the hooker sparked a fight. However Davies’ penalty effort at goal fell short of the posts. A powerful run by replacement Latu Makaafi set up Dougie Flockhart who showed blistering pace to race past three defenders before he became isolated and the visitors were able to clear.


An ambitious crossfield kick by Thomas was intercepted by Flockhart and the full back sprinted up to the Swansea twenty-two before the move was spoiled illegally by the visitors. The home side kept up the pressure on the Whites’ line and prop Matthew Norman was yellow carded for bringing down a maul.


Things got worse for the visitors moments later when Ben Fox was also yellow carded – this time for persistent offside. Doncaster’s two man advantage soon told when the Whites’ defensive line was penalised three times for offside close to the line – referee John Meredith’s patience finally gave and he awarded a penalty try to spark jubilant celebrations across Castle Park. McIlwaine converted.


Before the restart Makaafi and Andrew Gwynne were yellow carded for their part in sparking a mass brawl. There was still time for another play though and the Whites managed to regain possession with the forwards driving deep into the home twenty-two. Wells then showed great alertness to take a quick tap penalty before powering over in the corner to seal an outstanding victory. Davies added the conversion.


Next up for Doncaster is a Championship match at home to Leeds while Swansea host Llanelli in the Welsh Premiership.




Full time:-   Doncaster   16   Swansea   20


Referee:-   John Meredith

Weather:-   Cloudy, 5C


Man of the match:-   Rhodri Wells


Doncaster scorers:


Tries:-   Penalty try (80+6)

Cons:-   McIlwaine (80+7)

Pens:-   McIlwaine (24, 40+8, 46)


Swansea scorers:


Tries:-   Wells (2, 80+11)

Cons:-   Davies (3, 80+12)

Pens:-   Davies (16, 36)


Doncaster team:

15 D Flockhart

14 B Toft

13 O Goss (rep: L Makaafi 63)

12 F Burdon

11 M Bateman

10 D McIlwaine

9 C Hallam

1 T Davies

2 J Yeandle

3 R Burke-Flynn

4 G Kenworthy (rep: Z Farivarz 57)

5 D Parsons

6 A Boyde

7 D Bradford (rep: C Planchant 57)

8 M Noone


Swansea team:

15 N Thomas

14 L Harrhy (rep: J Dixon 41)

13 R Evans

12 S Watermeyer

11 E Walker

10 S Davies

9 R Wells

1 R Jones (rep: M Norman 54)

2 P John (rep: A Rees 47)

3 A Clatworthy

4 S Kiley (rep: B Fox 51)

5 R Kelly

6 A Gwynne

7 S Lewis (rep: L Williams 58)

8 D Baker (rep: O Pardoe 32)

By Paul Hopkins


Attendance: 1217

Official : John Meredith (England)

Doncaster Swansea