2010/2011 Principality Premiership
Swansea 18 v 19 Llandovery
11 March 2011 - St Helen's, Swansea

Match Report

Swansea 18 Llandovery 19


Llandovery secured their first ever win at St Helen’s thanks to a brace of late penalty goals by former All White Cerith Rees.

The first half was a rather dull affair both sides only managing a penalty apiece. Rory Pitman and James Dixon came close to scoring as the Whites battered the Llandovery line but flanker Nio Aiono was caught offside in midfield and promptly sent to the sin-bin.

 The Drovers began to put Swansea under pressure and Kieran Murphy was unlucky not to score after he was held up over the line by a dogged defence. On the stroke of half time winger Rhys Jones was yellow carded for deliberate offside.

 The home side retook the lead immediately after the interval through a Dixon drop goal but Cerith Rees brought the scores level with a penalty after Nicky Thomas held onto the ball after the tackle.

 Centre Matthew Jacobs showed a superb turn of pace to cut through the Whites defence to score the opening try of the match after 53 minutes. Replacement Tom Morgan was driven over from close range moments later and Dixon added the extras to tie the scores.

 Rees then kicked two penalty goals before Dixon crashed over in the corner in the 11th minute of injury time. However the fly half was unable to convert his try to the delight of the travelling support.

 The victory means Llandovery climb off the bottom of the Premiership as they look to use their games in hand to good effect in their bid for survival from relegation.

 Full time:-   Swansea   18   Llandovery   19

 Referee:-   Neil Hennessy

Attendance:-   250

 Swansea scorers:

Tries:-   Morgan (58), Dixon (80+11)

Cons:-   Dixon (59)

Pens:-   Dixon (9)

DG:-   Dixon (43)


Llandovery scorers:

Tries:-   Jacobs (53)

Cons:-   C Rees (54)

Pens:-   C Rees (14, 50, 75, 80)


Man of the match:-   Kieran Murphy


Swansea team:-   15 N Thomas  14 Rhys Jones (rep: J Garland 80+3)  13 C Shelmerdine  12 D Watts  11 L Bevan  10 J Dixon  9 R Wells (rep: P Tucker 77)  1 Roy Jones  2 A Joy (rep: A Rees 71)  3 A Clatworthy  4 B Fox (rep: D Blyth 62)  5 S Kiley  6 J Bija (rep: T Morgan 54)  7 S Lewis  8 R Pitman

Llandovery team:-   15 H Thomas  14 H Grundy  13 M Jacobs  12 D Rogers (rep: M Jones 41)  11 L Rees  10 C Rees  9 R Walters  1 D Williams (rep: P Edwards 51)  2 AW Davies (rep: A Yelland 72)  3 D Howells (rep: O Evans 51)  4 P Day  5 L Tonkin  6 N Aiono  7 L Phillips (rep: L Kendall 37)  8 K Murphy


By Paul Hopkins



Attendance: 250

Official : Neil Hennessy (Wales)

Swansea Llandovery